Elmwood’s Centennial Year!

From September 2015 to June 2016, Elmwood School celebrated a century of inspiring, educating, and empowering young women.

The Celebration of a Century from Elmwood School on Vimeo.

Elmwood—originally the Rockcliffe Preparatory School—opened for business in 1915 with only four students, aged four to seven. Over the past 10 decades, more than 6,000 students from around the world have passed through the doors of Elmwood School. Our graduates have gone on to make positive contributions to their families, their companies, their communities and their countries. Truly, we have much to celebrate.

We had an incredible group of volunteers and staff who worked very hard to plan events, activities and celebrations that marked the occasion.

The following members of the Elmwood community make up the Centennial Steering Committee:

Sarah Murray ’79 and Nancy Greenley,

Norma Davies ’42 and Nancy Chance,
Honorary members

Cheryl Boughton, Headmistress

Denise Carruthers and Teresa Stirling,
Communications Committee

Beth Ellison and Elise Aylen,
Alumni and Community Engagement

Meagan Enticknap-Smith, Justine Beaulé ’15 and Brooke Mierins ’16
Student Engagement Committee

Elizabeth Heatherington ’63 and Janet Uren ’68,
Historical Committee

Gayle McClelland,
Events Committee

Christine Blackadar,
Chair, Centennial Weekend

Ellen Ewert and Tanja Mackin,
Fundraising and Finance Committee

Jennifer Irwin-Jackson,
Advancement and Community Relations

Joan Sun McGarry,
Member at Large

Lindsay Germano,